Program

Image result for ihu logohttps://lh3.googleusercontent.com/QFMzQBA_aSu3t9AYTPUP7x-NFyHnS_dmEWLJxtfrfDOZPur8Vt3Sxvk8oq1sJb69j0vcK8FWz3HqD_h-6fBk2epNZZYJrgVLvsyJSsaq0hp_JOjNLR2TJIkCtssFZr0YAVIkboWO



2nd Graduate Conference in Civilization Studies

Being Human and Human Being: Civilizational Perspectives

 

5 - 6 April 2019



The Alliance of Civilizations Institute, Süleymaniye Salis Medresesi,
Ibn Haldun University,  Istanbul


Keynote speakers: İbrahim Kalın, Hikmet Yaman


Programme:




Friday 5th April


9:00 - 9:30 - Welcome Reception

9:30 - 11:00 - Words of Welcome / Welcoming Speech and Opening Keynote Address

11:00 - 12:40 - Panel 1

Prayer and Lunch Break

14:30 - 16:10 - Panel 2

Coffee Break

16:40 - 18:20 - Panel 3

Dinner


Saturday 6th April


10:00 - 11:40 Panel 4

Coffee  Break

12:00 - 13: 15 Panel 5 and Panel 6

Lunch Break

14:20 - 16:00 Panel 7 and  Panel 8

Coffee Break

16:20 - 17:20 Closing Keynote Speech/Address




Panel 1: Islamic Studies

Chair: Asst. Prof. Naoki Yamamoto,

 

11 Exploring the Meaning of Dhimma

Zeynep Büşra Güleçyüz busragulecyuz@gmail.com MA Student at Alliance of Civilizations Institute, Ibn Haldun University

1.2 Rethinking of Salafi Tradition by Abu Hamid al-Ghazali

Fuga Kimura, s13305fk@gmail.com University of Tokyo, Graduate School of Humanities and Sociology, Graduate student

1.3 Spirituality and Happiness: Exploring the interrelationship between Islamic spiritual experiences and happiness among London Muslim Youth.

Merve Cetinkaya, merve.cetinkaya.17@ucl.ac.uk , PhD Student at Division of Psychiatry University College London
1.4 Christian Scholars Using the Qurʾān in Early Islamic Centuries (675-900 A.D)

Abdullah Rıdvan Gökbel. argokbel@gmail.com Istanbul University



Panel 2: Migration, Crisis, and Mobilisation

Chair: Asst. Prof. Heba Raouf Ezzat


2.1 The Importance of “Being Human” in Inter-Religious Conflict and the Role of Muslims in Protecting Non-Muslim Minorities: Lessons from the Mass Migrations of Pundits and Muslims in Kashmir

Iesha Javed, ieshajaved@live.com M.A. student in Comparative Religion at the Department of Religious Studies, Central University of Kashmir

Shufaq Ghulam Nabi Malla, mehakayesha18@gmail.com, University of Kashmir


2.2 International Aid for Refugees: The Case of Syrians in Turkey

Snyaa Taha snyya.taha@ibnhaldun.edu.tr , Alliance of Civilizations Institute, Ibn Haldun University

2.3 Media Translation In Conflictual Times: The Arab Spring In Context

Yassine Hicham, yassinehicham2011@gmail.com PhD. student at Chouaib Doukkali University- El Jadida, Morocco

2.4 Islamic Education in the Netherlands: Negotiating Religious and National Identities in an Era of Societal Tensions

Zehra Vlug, zehravlug@gmail.com  Ibn Haldun University, Alliance of Civilizations Institute



Panel 3:  Methods, Methodologies, and Critiques.

Chair: T.B.A


3.1 Fiqh and Law: Apples and Oranges?

Danish Naeem, danish.naeem@ibnhaldun.edu.tr,  PhD Student at Ibn Haldun University, Alliance of Civilizations Institute

3.2 Ibn Haldun's Social Theory as a Study of Religious Sociology

Carullah Sevim, carullahsevim@gmail.com MA Student at Alliance of Civilizations Institute, Ibn Haldun University

3.3 A Phenomenological Critique to Empiricist Approach to History

Toha Salim, toha.salim06@gmail.com, MA Student at Department of Philosophy, Ibn Haldun University

3.4 Beyond Legal Orientalism: Studying Sharī'a Law in the Context of Comparative Legal Studies

Jeroen Vlug, jeroen.vlug@ibnhaldun.edu.tr, Ph.D. Student at Alliance of Civilizations Institute, Ibn Haldun University



Panel 4:  Entangled Modernity: Oscillations of Civilisation and Colonisation


Chair: Prof. Erik Ringmar

4.1 Divergences on the Universality of Human Rights: A Multi-Level Comparison.

Tareq Sharawi, tareq189@hotmail.com , Ph.D. Candidate at Alliance of Civilizations Institute, Ibn Haldun University

4.2 Modernity and Totalitarianism:

Klajd Bylyku, klajd.bylyku@gmail.com , MA Student at Alliance of Civilizations Institute, Ibn Haldun University

4.3 The Internet As A Technical Civilization

Hossein Turner, hosseinturner@iikv.org , Ph.D. Student at Ibn Haldun University, Alliance of Civilizations Institute

4.4 Civilizing The Uncivilized: The Dutch Euro-centrism In Aceh In 1873-1942

Nia Deliana, delianania@gmail.com International Islamic University of Malaysia, Department of History and Civilization, Candidate Doctor of Philosophy


Panel 5: Crossroads of Theology & Philosophy

Chair: Asst. Prof. Sumeyye Parildar


3.1. Making Sense of   Prophetic Infallibility:

A Critical case-analysis of the Ḥadīth Literature Describing the Illness of the Prophet Ayyūb

Mohamed Taysir Safi mohammed.safi@ibnhaldun.edu.tr. Ibn Haldun University,

3.2  'ilm al-Kalåm as an Existential Speech Act

Zakaria El Houbba, zakaria.elhoubba@gmail.com Alliance of Civilizations Institute, Ibn Haldun University/ Kalam Research & Media

3.3.  The Issue of Origin of Language in Ibn Jinni and Ibn Faris

Hatice Sak, hatice.sak@ibnhaldun.edu.tr MA student at Ibn Haldun University, Alliance of Civilizations Institute


Panel 6: Ottoman History


Chair: Asst. Prof. Vehbi Baysan


6.1 Millennialism and Claims of Universal Rulership in the Ottoman and the Mughal Empires

Ahmet Tarık Çaşkurlu tarik.caskurlu@ihu.edu.tr MA student at Alliance of Civilizations Institute, Ibn Haldun University

6.2 A Different Approach to the Temettuat Register: Tax, Welfare and Economic Environment of Ottoman Empire at 19th century

Mustafa Runyun, runyun.mustafa@gmail.com İSAR Foundation

6.3 The Ottoman Hajj Routes at the 18th Century

Özge Eda Köse, ozgekose@std.sehir.edu.tr MA Student at İstanbul Sehir University in Urban Studies


Panel 7. Aesthetics, Linguistics & Literary Studies


Chair: Asst. Prof. Nagihan Haliloglu


7.1. How Islamophobia also foreshadows misogyny: An analysis of the Islamophobic-misogynistic complex in Michel Houellebecq’s Submission

Mohammad Hossain, mohammad.hossain@ibnhaldun.edu.tr Ibn Haldun University, Alliance of Civilizations Institute

7.2 Autosegmental Approach to Causative Verbs in Middle Moroccan Arabic.

Belqassem laghfiri, klaghfiri@gmail.com PhD student at the faculty of letters and human sciences Ibn Zohr university Agadir, Morocco, Co-author: Mohamed Elghazi, m.elghazi@uiz.ac.ma , Associate Professor at the faculty of letters and human sciences Ibn Zohr university Agadir.

7.3 Museums and Invention of the Islamic Art

Emine Betül Çakirca betulcakirca@gmail.com PhD - Ibn Haldun University Alliance of Civilizations

7.4 Hospitality in Islamicate Civilization; an example of Ibn Battuta’s Travelogue.

Aysylu Saetgaraeva, aibarslog@gmail.com Ibn Haldun University. Alliance of Civilizations Institute


Panel 8 Humanhood between Free Will and Determinism

Chair: Asst. Prof. Ercument Asil

8.1 A Comparative Approach To The Neurobiological Basis Of Free Will And Human Responsibility: Kant And Al-Ghazzali

Muhammad Yusoph Ramos, yusophramos@gmail.com, Ibn Haldun University, Alliance of Civilizations Institute

8.2 Al-Ghazali's Understanding of Human Ontology

Cemre Ateşçi, cemreatesci@gmail.com.  MA Student at Alliance of Civilizations Institute, Ibn Haldun University


8.3 Free will and al-Ash’arī’s theory of acquisition (Kasb)

Mohammad Makdod, m.makdod@hotmail.com


8.4 Khalwat Dar Anjuman ('solitude Within Society'): On The Tension Between Involvement In And Withdrawal From The World

Metin Noorata, metin718@gmail.com,  Alliance of Civilizations Institute, Ibn Haldun University




 




Ibn Haldun University
Alliance of Civilization Institute
Süleymaniye Salis Medresesi
İstanbul, Turkey
e-Mail: meeting@ihu.edu.tr
Tel. +90 212 692 0 212